top of page

National Muslim Womens Day

March 27, 2018 marks the first Muslim Women's Day for the world. I will have to say I was surprised to see this trending when I opened up twitter on this faithful day. I would have never expected a day like this to arise in the world today, but the fact that this positivity is spreading everyday gave me a sense of pride and confidence.With all this love flooding my feed, I no longer felt alone in the world. Everyone gathered to share their experiences no matter what race, gender, ethnicity, or sexuality someone was there was only happiness being spread from one another. Not only did Muslim Women unite on this day to reclaim themselves for who they are and feel proud; many non-muslims shared their experiences with their own Muslim friends and family who they love and care for.

As a hijabi myself it feels empowering to see other Muslim women standing up and being able to claim their identity without fail. Seeing people who are Muslim in the media makes many Muslim girls connected to the world around them just like anyone else would if they saw someone like them in the media. Due to all the backlash Muslims are getting it becomes difficult to embrace ourselves completely without having to constantly be in fear of getting hurt by people who don’t necessarily understand us as people. But even though these fears are in our minds we don’t let it control us because we know that there are people who care in the world and we should embrace who we are because there will always be someone who will stand by you no matter what.

In the end, we should all remember to embrace who we are regardless of what other people think because if you try to change yourself in order to please the people around you and make them happy, are you making yourself happy? Muslim Women’s Day was a heartwarming event that not only made me feel proud to be a Muslim, but it also reminded me that I should never be ashamed of who I am. I hope everyone enjoyed the #MuslimsWomensDay hashtag no matter if you are a Muslim or if you are not because we should all come together and be proud of one another for who we are.

~A

Colorlines screenshot of #MuslimWomensDay image from MuslimGirl.com, taken on March 27, 2017.


bottom of page